Five Bodied Forum Index Five Bodied (A)Wake Zappa Academy
      All times are GMT - 5 Hours  

Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:05 am
sixbodied
Site Admin

Post subject: Zappa Academy Reply with quote

[[ IF THEY ONLY COULDA HEARD IT

by Prof. Andy Hollinden

Since 1996, Ive taught a course for the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music called Z402 - The Music of Frank Zappa. On the final exam, I always ask students this question: How has your opinion of Frank Zappa changed over the course of this semester? Aside from being a good way to fish for compliments, its always nice to be reminded that once they start to pay attention, most students really do find that FZ starts to speak to them. Heres a selection of comments from the class of 2011. Hope you enjoy them as much as I have.

DAVID J - Prior to taking this class, I was a novice Zappa fan. I knew a handful of songs but was primarily interested in him through watching interviews and reading his autobiography. Taking this class exposed me to the varied side of his artistic and socially aware genius. Zappas willingness to put forth his entire effort and being into his work is deeply admirable. Yet, taking this class offers insight into the contextual circumstances of successes and failures (if either really exists) in Zappas career that bring him back down to the level of any human being. We are all caught in the same systems, and Zappa exemplified the way that art can bridge the gap between reality and possibility, giving humans a place, even for a moment, where they can conceive different worlds.